gameplay programming to game design shifting

Started by
3 comments, last by patheros 5 months, 2 weeks ago

Hello,

I'm a CS graduate currently working as a gameplay programmer in Egypt. It's quite rare to find game studios here, but I am grateful for the opportunity to work in this industry. Despite being part of a small studio, we are all actively involved in game design, researching and discussing mechanics, storylines, and more. Although I don't dislike programming, I am finding that I have a stronger interest in game design. As a result, I have started to read books on the subject and now I am looking for a more professional environment, possibly through an internship at a game studio, even if it means working abroad.

I would greatly appreciate any advice on how to break into the game design field, considering my background in programming. I'm curious to know if my programming experience can be beneficial in pursuing a career in game design with the help of technology-oriented universe. customers can take 5 Survey’s per month per restaurant based on the restaurant’s quality and norms.

MYBKExperience

Advertisement

davidadley said:
Despite being part of a small studio, we are all actively involved in game design

Everyone in a small studio being actively involved in design is not “despite” being a small studio, but rather because of being a small studio.

davidadley said:
Although I don't dislike programming, I am finding that I have a stronger interest in game design.

Of course. It's a fascinating field.

davidadley said:
I'm curious to know if my programming experience can be beneficial in pursuing a career in game design.

Of course it can. A designer who can implement (and who understands the challenges of implementing) his designs makes a more attractive candidate for a design opening.

davidadley said:
advice on how to break into the game design field