10+ years software engineer wanting to step into game development

Started by
6 comments, last by qwexsugare 4 months, 1 week ago

Hi guys, i wanted to ask you, i've been a software engineer for 10+ years, did BE (C#, Java, Node) and now iOS (Objective C, C++, Swift) along with some Android (Java, kotlin).

I'm interested in jumping to game development since i find my current line of work pretty stale and boring, and i've always had passion for gaming, but i really don't like/have patience for UI stuff such as design (Obviously in mobile we have to do UI, still not a fan)

What should i do/learn to join a gaming company?

Is it possible to do something that has minimum to no design in game development?

Thanks in advance.

Advertisement

welp i just noticed i messed up the section, im sorry :D

There are two general classes of SWE which you might fall into, depending on your strengths.

• There are a lot of people using Unity game engine where C# is the main language. If you learn Unity well and can write decent C# this would be a decent starting point to work on gameplay-related code. The downside is that you will be tied to a specific engine which may limit opportunities in the future (though Unity is popular now).
  • The other class of SWE would be if you have strong low-level C++ skills. This would make you more suited to engine programming, though you would need to have really strong skills and a demonstrated track record of working on engine systems. Can you optimize code down to nearly bare metal level with SIMD and good cache access patterns, etc.? Do you have a good understanding of how the compiler works so that you can write more optimal code? Can you read assembly to check that the generated code is efficient? Can you do it all while producing clean readable maintainable code? This type of SWE is harder to find and would probably result in higher pay and more opportunities (e.g. you can work on any engine including custom or Unreal).