Legality of MIDI music

Started by
14 comments, last by Obscure 19 years, 5 months ago
Quote:Original post by Obscure
Quote:Original post by johnhattan
Legally, MIDI files have been ruled to be recordings and not sheet-music (even though they've got attributes of each), so copyrights that apply to sound recordings apply to MIDI files.

That's important because recordings and MIDI files have very different copyright laws applied to 'em. American copyright laws are a mess.

Disclaimer: I'm not a lawyer.
That doesn't appear to make any sense. You say they have the same law applied, then in the next sentence say they have different laws. Which is it?

I meant that recordings and sheet music have different laws. Must be all the cough syrup I drank this morning.

(my byline from the Gamedev Collection series, which I co-edited) John Hattan has been working steadily in the casual game-space since the TRS-80 days and professionally since 1990. After seeing his small-format games turned down for what turned out to be Tandy's last PC release, he took them independent, eventually releasing them as several discount game-packs through a couple of publishers. The packs are actually still available on store-shelves, although you'll need a keen eye to find them nowadays. He continues to work in the casual game-space as an independent developer, largely working on games in Flash for his website, The Code Zone (www.thecodezone.com). His current scheme is to distribute his games virally on various web-portals and widget platforms. In addition, John writes weekly product reviews and blogs (over ten years old) for www.gamedev.net from his home office where he lives with his wife and daughter in their home in the woods near Lake Grapevine in Texas.

Advertisement
Different laws? They have their own copyright (as in each has protection from the date it was created) but they are all under the same law (copyright law).
Dan Marchant - Business Development Consultant
www.obscure.co.uk