Open-world skirmish; an attempt

Started by
2 comments, last by j3p 11 years, 8 months ago
Some images of a game/engine I've been working on for about two years now. The idea is to create some sort of multiplayer skirmish featuring basic stuff like deathmatches, CTF and so on. But as I lost my creativity at the age of 14, the game has taken a direction of being a more like a template for those who have the actual ideas.

I designed the engine to be highly moddable: every mod will be provided as zip or 7-zip archives that can patch each other when loading the game. With xml and scripting users can implement new types of enemies, vehicle and player classes, game modes and visual effects.

Current features summer 2012:
Hardcoded features:
-DirectX 11 HDR rendering
-Cascaded variance shadow maps (not fully finished though, too much peter-panning when the scene gets bigger)
-Dual-paraboloid variance shadow maps
-Dynamic impostors (works somehow, the update logic still needs a proper implementation, also some issues with depth and ambient occlusion)
-Particle rendering
-Skeletal animation, linear+additive blending (animation layers) - integration with physics (ragdoll -> animation transitions) is still WIP
-CCD IK (bugs badly atm, needs investigation)
-Fork and join multithreading using Intel's TBB (includes rendering, physics and update logic)
-SSE2 +optionally SSE4.2 instructions
-PhysX 3.2
-APEX destruction (rendering code not finished yet, some issues with the existing pipeline)
-Angelscript (indirectly controls everything and makes the actual game, event-based system)
-Component based actors (all objects in the images are actors, including sky, triggers, snow particle system and light sources)
-XML defined actors, materials (forward shading, post-processing and physics) and entities
-Terrains - about 10% completed... Ready enough to put it in the list smile.png. I wanted it mainly for the ocean, but not a priority for now.