PNG loading with libpng

Started by
2 comments, last by Omerta7486 5 years, 7 months ago

Hey, everyone,

I've been teaching myself C++ for the past week, although I've been coding and tinkering with games for almost 16 years. I'm comfortable with the C++ syntax already and have been chugging along fine, but I've hit a bit of a snag. I'm using CodeBlocks 17.12, SDL 2.0.8, and SDL Image 2.0.3, and I am trying to load a PNG file in for use as a sprite. I have SDL linked perfectly fine, and have been messing around with it's commands for a couple of days with no problems. Loading BMPs, editing pixel matrices, getting user input, basic loop timing and flow, etc. Yesterday, I tried to install SDL Image, and I have the library installed to the point that CodeBlocks can pick up it's syntax and I can use auto finish on it's commands, and there are no compilation errors. The problem comes when I run my code. Through process of elimination(thanks to my in-built error checking), I have narrowed it down to this code:

/***   -INITIALIZE PNG LOADING-   ***/
	int flags=IMG_INIT_PNG;
	int initted=IMG_Init(flags);
	if((initted&&flags) != flags)
	{
    	SDL_Log("Unable to initialize image load: %s", IMG_GetError());
		return EXIT_FAILURE;
	}

/***   -LOAD IMAGES-   ***/
	SDL_Surface *image;
	SDL_RWops *rwop;
	rwop=SDL_RWFromFile("\media\die.png", "rb");
	image=IMG_LoadPNG_RW(rwop);
	if(!image)
	{
    	SDL_Log("Unable to initialize load image: %s", IMG_GetError());
		return EXIT_FAILURE;
	}

If I comment block all the Load Images part it runs(even with the PNG Loading part still in), but if I dont, it exits due to the error.