License for a Game Engine?

Started by
5 comments, last by diligentcircle 5 years, 5 months ago

Hello everyone!

I have been developing a Game Engine with Editor for a few months now, and need a good license for it. I have been thinking and doing research for a while, and found 2 options which I think are best:

• One option is the MIT license, it's as open as it gets, gives users a lot of freedom, but doesn't give me a lot of freedom. E.g. What if someone takes my Engine and Editor, improves it, then sells it without releasing the source or under another license? That all that work might be for nothing, because someone else now has the same product with more features. But an upside of the MIT license is that it allows users to tweak it as they see fit, and it draws more users to my Engine and Editor.
  • Another option is the Mozilla license, from what I've read it's similiar to LGPL/GPL, but doesn't require you to have a separate Engine(exe) and Game(so/dll) binary. The Mozilla requires someone else to contribute back to my project hen they modify something(I believe), which means they can't just run of with my Engine and Editor and sell it, because the exact source is already available for free. The downside to this though is that it might be too restrictive for people and drive people away(also because it's less known).

So the trouble I'm having is, I don't know which one to choose. I'm not a lawyer and I don't know much about it. I also don't have the money to hire one. So I here have a list of questions I hope you guys can answer:

1. Does the Mozilla license require every change made to the Engine/Editor by someone to be contributed back to the Engine/Editor? So let's say the Editor has a blue theme, and someone doesn't like it. He then forks or clones it and changes the colors to a grey theme. Is he now required to submit those changes back? Or is he just required to publish them in his own repository?