Game writing tools and techniques

Started by
6 comments, last by Guy Fleegman 4 years, 9 months ago

Hey everyone, my first post because I’m curious about the tools that other game developers and writers use to make their stories.

I currently work as a writer in an Australian game studio. I have a background in writing and developing stories for Films and TV but I’ve found the switch to game writing to be challenging and increasingly time consuming. We have been experimenting with different techniques for writing outside the writer’s room pen and paper stuff, particularly different ways of visualising or modelling stories, potential character arcs etc. I was wondering if anyone has used any software or tools they recommend?

Advertisement

There are various programs like this: https://www.nevigo.com/en/ that connect writing with other parts of game design more closely than a word processor. It depends on your workflow if they are effective or not. (they haven't worked for me, yet)

The more you get tied up with software planning tools, the more your company will shift from agile teamwork to slow bureaucracy. It can be good for working remotely, but makes less sense if your coworkers are right there.

If you have a big empty wall in the office, pen, tape and paper works best for group planning, no matter what it's for.
* See much more than your screens can display.
* Talk directly to the people making changes for more efficient teamwork.
* Improved emotional connection with coworkers by seeing their faces. This reduces stress and grudges.
* Have no technical limitations, passwords, bugs, ransom-ware nor crashes.
* No price hikes based on what the tool maker thinks you're earning (usually far off).
* Backups can easily be done using a camera.

1 hour ago, Dawoodoz said:

The more you get tied up with software planning tools, the more your company will shift from agile teamwork to slow bureaucracy.

The original post is about game writing - not project planning.