How to become an AAA studio?

Started by
6 comments, last by Hodgman 4 years, 10 months ago

While this question has been answered before, I want to acknowledge that I know you can't just make one in a couple of months with a couple thousand dollars.  I can accept very long term goals.  Unfortunately, you can't just get project funding from an existing company, and I haven't found a single way to even get close to becoming a successful studio.

I am an indie game developer who enjoys pixel art games.

Advertisement

If you want to become an AAA studio you should probably just make games and hope one of them will be a huge success. You can find an investor/publisher or do crowdfunding if you are an experienced lead developer and have a great idea (e.g. Kingdom Come: Deliverance, No Man's Sky, Star Citizen, respectively). But that's about it, I can't see another way of becoming an AAA studio except for literally winning the lottery.

Sounds fair.

I am an indie game developer who enjoys pixel art games.

3 hours ago, Pepsidog said:

While this question has been answered before, I want to acknowledge that I know you can't just make one in a couple of months with a couple thousand dollars.  I can accept very long term goals.  Unfortunately, you can't just get project funding from an existing company, and I haven't found a single way to even get close to becoming a successful studio.

Becoming a AAA studio means you're putting out AAA games. If you look at any studio doing so they're backed by hundreds of millions of dollars.