Game for a Graduation Thesis

Started by
5 comments, last by Tom Sloper 4 years, 1 month ago

Greetings. Thank you for opening this thread. Long post ahead. I am a High School student trying to get into game development. I would like to ask you a set of questions, but I think giving a context first will be the best. So, this is what's happening:

In recent time, about 3 weeks ago, I started learning how to use Unity Game Engine and Blender. I always loved to draw and design all kinds of weapons, armors but also levels (unfortunately, all of those are on paper only, FOR NOW, of course) and when I started to think about how to apply this trait of mine, I concluded I could try creating a game. Since it's only been three weeks, my game-making skills are extremelly poor (as expected). Fast forward to yesterday. We were supposed to pick up a topic for our graduation thesis which we will hand in closely to our school-leaving examinations in year 2021. There is a TON of stuff to choose from. As long as it is part of IT, it's fine. And I chose to make a game. Well, it's more of a one level of a game in my case. More students before me have taken this topic and passed totally OK with Flappy Bird-style game they made. They were satisfied with it. I wouldn't be. I want this game to be best possible, that is why I also want to start working on it as soon as possible. In fact, I am starting right now, but I figured it would be better to ask here first. I have roughly 17 months to make a game worthy of passing. Of course, it could be some Flappy Bird. But I want to go further. Excuse me if this all sounds stupid, but I simply would not be satisfied with just any game I would make. I am well aware I won't be able to make a game like Battlefield alone, that there is a ton of people and budget behind such games. But I want it to be as best as possible.