I'm an ER Nurse wanting to make a medication game... got some questions!

Started by
7 comments, last by EmergencyRN 4 years ago

Hi there,

I am nurse and work in a busy emergency department (a little extra busy at the moment!). I also handle a lot of the eduction for new nurses.

The background: Medication administration can be super stressful for new and old nurses (and other healthcare providers). This is specifically an issue in the ER where you have to be comfortable drawing up meds on the fly in emergency situations, such as when a patient is coding. This is extremely stressful and the risk of medication errors is high.

Possible solution: I'd love to create a very simple app based game that simulates drawing up medications in this type of high-stress scenario. It would allow nurses to practice high stress medication administration to gain confidence for the real thing.

My questions: Is building a game like this something I could do on my own? (I don't have any knowledge of game development or coding). What are the big picture steps in building a game such as this? Any suggestions/thoughts on how to approach this idea?

…Or is this just a situation of nice idea, but waaay to hard to implement? Thanks for your thoughts!

Advertisement

EmergencyRN said:
patient is coding

Please let your patients code - for some, it helps hem relax.

On a more serious note; yes, you can absolutely do that. I don't know exactly what drawing up medications mean - is it mixing fluids to a certain ratio, or picking pills from a drawer? In either case, it doesn't sound very complicated, from a programming perspective. Have you tried working with any sort of automation or scripting? From a completely blank slate, it's is some work,
but if you had some experience it may be much easier. It's also very likely you could get some help developing your application here on gamedev.net.