looking for resources for Voxel Editor development

Started by
9 comments, last by bzt 3 years, 11 months ago

I am an experirenced opengl dev making 3D tools (but not games) for a while now, and my potential next project is a voxel editor similar to Voxedit or the editor in sandbox.game.

I am looking for resources how to make similar rendering editor, when I searched the net and even youtube tutorials, I can see there are tutorials but most of them are solely focused on terrain generation and rendering and all of them are not even complete, missing the part of the actual edit of the voxels like adding, delete, ALL of them.

Do you guys know any resources, links, books, opensource code (that is easy to understand) that I can refer to for me to start the project running?
Like what i said, I am an experienced OpenGL dev, but I just need a guide on how to start with voxel world (editor that is).

Advertisement

I can recommend Paul Bourke's mc article. Dated, and it's advisable to read about other polygonisation techniques, but it's fairly simple, well-written and helped me when I was first starting out rendering voxels.

Magica Voxel has good usability and all those features, but only for low resolution. I would use it as the reference when learning what users expect from previous experience with voxel editors.