The 'correct' way to design a modern game engine

Started by
2 comments, last by Andrispowq 3 years, 10 months ago

(I'm new to this site, please let me know if I've posted to the wrong place)

I've been creating games for 4 years, and 3D games for 2 years. I've only used Unreal Engine 4 and Unity for a few weeks. So the job of deciding on a design and patterns for my engine was kind of up to me, and my experience. I've came up with a - in my opinion - very good and expandable design, but I need your help to improve it and make it better, because of course, I can't know every little detail.

The engine is written in C++, and uses the OpenGL and Vulkan API to interact with the GPU.

Here's an overview of the system:

When the engine starts, it loads every asset. This won't remain like this, I'll make it load in the background, but that's a task for a future time, as I need to start working with threads and thread safety. It loads the whole scene from a so called ‘world file’, which basically tells the engine where are the models, textures, and sounds, which one to load, how to compose materials, and then objects from them.

The engine uses an Entity-Component-System architecture. Everything in the game is a GameObject. It has a transform, a parent, and a list of children, and a list of components. Every component adds some data to the object. The systems in the engine are called engines. There are multiple engines, like RenderingEngine, AudioEngine, PhysicsEngine, etc. The RenderingEngine has a list of Renderer components and Light components. When a GameObject with a Renderer component gets updated, it adds itself to the list of renderer components in the RenderingEngine. So basically, the components have some data, and register themselves to the corresponding engine, so they can get updated, or used upon rendering.