Help! I'm looking to start developing a 3d open world simulation type thing.

Started by
21 comments, last by Geri 10 months, 2 weeks ago

I'm starting as an almost total newbie. I used to do some simple game programming when I was younger, but that knowledge is basically gone now.

I want to make a simulator / game where all you really do is walk around. I want it to be open world like... You can explore for a really long time and go into different buildings and those buildings have more stuff to look at. I know I want it to be 3d models for everything.

I've spent countless hours looking for resources, but I've gotten almost nowhere. The things I'm seeing are for more complicated games or something entirely different from what I want.

Realistically, how hard would it be to create my idea?

Where should I start? What programs should I look into?

Anything can help, I'm very passionate about making this, so I will use any and all answers. Please let me know if you know anywhere else i can post for more help. Thank you.

Advertisement

As beginner creating an open world game is almost impossible you're just setting yourself up to fail. I'd recommend making lots of small games and slowly learning mechanics that way once you've created a few games and feel confident, you can then start on something bigger.

open world?

3D?

rooms and buildings to explore?

only do this if you want to dedicate the next 5 years to figuring and learning how to do this.

Our company homepage:

https://honorgames.co/

My New Book!:

https://booklocker.com/books/13011.html